Winding down.

I spent a lot of time figuring out where to pick up this post, and decided the best idea is to write two separate posts. Basically in this one I am going to chatter on about my wedding, my wedding dress etc. my next post will be about my honeymoon and latest finished jumper :).

Right on to wedding chatter. So my husband and me got married last Saturday. I was so very nervous, I find it hard to be in front of lots of people, so was dreading the actual ceremony. Somehow I managed to make it through the ceremony without tripping up over my words. I basically kept telling myself, breath, stand up straight and focus on Sam (my husband). He managed to trip up over my middle name, apparently My middle name is no longer Lucy, it is now Juicy, super funny. Anyhow both my family and his family really loved the ceramony, it was only a simple affair, we decided that our local registry office was the perfect place for our wedding, not too expensive plus easy enough to arrange (though still terrifying). The main thing is that we got through that without any hitches, it is such a relief for that part to be out of the way.

I am so glad I opted for knitting my wedding dress and decided on wearing long sleeves with a knitted shrug over the top, because I have to say I spent a lot of time being freezing cold. I think the only time I wasn’t cold was afterwards when we tottered up to the cathedral for extra photos. I do have to say that despite being incredibly nervous, stressed and cold I really enjoyed my day. I am so happy that I can now call Sam, my Husband.

Now it is time for the photos, we haven’t sorted through all of them, baring in mind we opted to have a member of the family take the photos instead of having a professional wedding photographer. I’ve tried to pick out photos which show of my dress and shrug the best, I’ve not found many good ones of my wedding clutch unfortunately.

I knitted my wedding dress from Fashion Martina’s Knit wedding gown Dream pattern, this can be found on Ravelry, I added in a couple of modifications when making mine. I used Bergère de France Angel yarn instead of the recommended yarn for the pattern. The pattern for shrug I wore with my wedding dress can be found in Vampire Knits, it is called Sidhe Shrug. I knitted it in Eden Cottage Yarns Titus 4ply, the colour way I used was Coal (this yarn is delicious by the way). The pattern for my clutch is called Leafy Knot Clutch, it can be found in Knitting 24/7: 30 Projects to Knit, Wear, and Enjoy, On the Go and Around the Clock by Veronik Avery. I found the pattern for my Lavender flowers in Lesley Stanfield’s 100 Flowers to Knit & Crochet: A Collection of Beautiful Blooms for Embellishing Garments, Accessories, and More. You might also notice my lovely boots, they are Doc Martens, and they are super, why, because not only are they Doc Martens, they are floral Doc Martens.

I’ve been wanting to post up finished pictures of my wedding dress and shrug for ages, but knew it was best to wait till after the wedding. I am very happy to be able to show my creations finally. And chatter on about my wedding.

2 thoughts on “Winding down.

  1. Congratulations on your wedding, I love your wedding dress it is beautiful! Such a brilliant idea to knit your own. Looks like a great celebration, no wedding is complete without Doctor Who and Star Wars memorabilia. 😀

Leave a Reply

