My Wedding Dress

I finally took photos of my wedding dress in all it’s finished glory, I might be over hyping it a little. I also took pictures of the shrug which I am planning to wear with it.

The colour of the dress in the photos isn’t very accurate, I think there was too much sunshine coming in through the window, so it looks more pink than purple, it is actually purple.

IMG_0340.JPG

IMG_0341.JPG

IMG_0342.JPG

The dress is shorter than the one in the pattern I followed, I intended it to be around knee length, and it is. Instead of making the entire skirt lacey I knitted the top two tiers of ruffles with the yarn doubled, because I don’t fancy my knickers being on show. The third and final tier is knitted with the yarn held single, and is shorter than the first two tiers, as I felt the dress was long enough, and also a shorter tier makes for a nice border. I followed a pattern purchase on Ravelry when making this dress, this is a link to the pattern: http://www.ravelry.com/patterns/library/knit-wedding-gown-dream
The dress is knitted in Bergère de France’s Angel, which I think worked quite well, my mum says that it isn’t very nice to crochet with, as it’s mohair it tends to stick to itself, which has it’s disadvantages. I am very pleased with how the dress has turned out, and super grateful for my mums making of the crochet flowers which are sewn onto the dress. I am super excited and really can’t wait till I get to wear it on my wedding day.

Here are photos of the shrug I knitted to wear with the dress:

IMG_0344.JPG

IMG_0343-0.JPG

I knitted this from a pattern in Vampire Knits, I’d been wanting to knit this for ages and what better excuse than for my wedding. I knitted this in Eden
Cottage Yarns Titus, which is absolutely gorgeous to work with.

Now to carry on with Christmas knitting projects.

4 thoughts on “My Wedding Dress

  1. Oh my goodness, I think that’s the most beautiful knitted dress that I’ve ever seen. It’s GORGEOUS. The colour, the style, everything.

  2. Beautiful! I am sure you will look gorgeous in it.

Leave a Reply

