More than just knitted gifts.

I meant to posted sooner, don’t I always. Since my last post I have finished knitting two Christmas gifts for friends. Both are shawls knitted in wonderfully yummy yarn. One is entirely my own design, and the other takes elements from the entrelac book I have and mixes them up and adds in other bits. I am very pleased with both shawls and would happily kept them both because they feel so nice, but they are not for me, I picked out those yarns in those colour ways especially for those people.

Here is a photo of the shawl I designed myself:

image

I used one skein of Dream in Color’s Classy in colour way Romeo Blue. I am super pleased that my idea for how to knit this turned out how I imagined it in my head. I chose not to work from a pattern for this because I just couldn’t find one that really stood out as being for the person I was knitting for. This shawl is a gift for a mutual friend of my fiancé and myself. They are transgender, and I wanted to knit them something subtle, feminine and sophisticated, but also different, and I think this is all of them. Now my friend is more geeky than they are sophisticated, but I think they need something pretty in their wardrobe that is also snuggly and warm for winter.

Now to show you the shawl I knitted for my best friend:

image

I used design elements of triangular entrelac, from Rosemary Drysdales Entrelac book, when knitting this shawl, I added a lace stitch pattern into the entrelac rectangles, and then did picked up garter stitch border. I wanted to make the most of the lovely yarn this was knitted in. I used Eden Cottage Yarns BFl Sock yarn in colour way Thunder. This yarn is so soft and smooth. It’s absolutely beautiful to work with, I like it so much that I am knitting another shawl in it as a gift for an auntie of mine, and am also thinking of knitting a wrap for myself in it as well. This shawl is based on a shawl I knitted for myself last Christmas out of Manos Del Uruguay Fino. My best friend loves that shawl, so I wanted to knit her one of her very own.

I have two projects on the go at the moment, one as I said earlier is a shawl for an auntie, and the other is worked from a lovely pattern I found on Ravelry called Viajante, it is wonderful. I unfortunately couldn’t get hold of the recommended yarn, so am working it in Rooster Delightful Lace, can’t wait to finish it. Anyhow that is all from me, I shall return with more finished projects another time :).

One thought on “More than just knitted gifts.

  1. […] (the pink shawl in Not more knitted gifts!?) and also my best friend (the storm grey shawl in  More than just knitted gifts.). So baring in mind how much I adore yarn by Eden Cottage Yarn, I knew I had to knit my mum’s […]

Leave a Reply

